By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

University Leadership

What's next for you is first priority for us. This commitment is reflected in the University's mission, which is to both attract and engage the best students from around the world, and support them with a personalized and academically rigorous experience.

Leading this charge are our Chancellor, Provost, and Board of Trustees, all of whom exemplify excellence, passion, and commitment, and who work to ensure that all levels of the University operate efficiently, responsibly, and with the best interest of the students in mind. Learn more about Syracuse leadership here:

Chancellor Syverud

Kent Syverud is Chancellor and President of Syracuse University. Appointed by the University’s Board of Trustees in September 2013, he assumed the leadership post in January 2014, becoming the 12th leader of the University since its founding in 1870.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Syracuse University, responsible for the institution's educational mission and fiscal policies.

Vice Chancellor, Provost and Chief Academic Officer

Gretchen Ritter is the Vice Chancellor, Provost and Chief Academic Officer at Syracuse University.